blogging from the student's perspective

My Last Post!

The semester is almost over and I am getting excited for our class to present our project next Friday to Don Gorney and the others who will be there to learn about what we’ve done this semester. I am not a speaker, but I have been working on some design ideas and of course, the Outreach section of the report. Our advisor in this project, Marjorie, is helping to compile the work of all the groups. I think our report will turn out to be very beneficial to LOI. I’ve learned more this year about ecology, conservation, and being green in an urban setting than I ever have before from my involvement in the practicum, the herbarium work over the summer, and taking Ecology — all here at Butler. I understand these subjects so much better now, and I appreciate the help that Marjorie and the rest of the faculty at Butler have given me. I also think our class has developed a greater appreciation for the business side of things, rather than just the research that Biology students are usually focused on. We’re thinking about more than just our own educational advancement by being more concerned with how others view these issues and what we can do to educate.

Interestingly enough, I was checking my gmail the other day and there was a link for LEED Exam Prep Training on the top of the page. I decided to click the link and it brought me to a page about LEED Exam Preparation courses. I wasn’t aware there was an actual LEED Credential that people could acquire for their resumes, but as the site states, “The LEED AP designation is a highly sought-after credential by professionals in environmental sustainability roles, as well as law, real estate and other areas”. I always thought it was a rating system for buildings, but it turns out professionals can get LEED accreditation as well. I was certain architects and others in the construction profession  had to have heard of this, so I wondered how many are actually certified. I went to the GBCI (Green Building Certification Institute) directory and found that there are 142,266 names of LEED Professionals. How cool is it that anyone can get this credential just by taking a test? If I were an architect or involved in building design, I would definitely be interested in this!

Leave a Reply

