blogging from the student's perspective

Change in Perspective

Before this past year I wouldn’t have really been interested in trying to stop bird deaths by window strikes. Honestly, I had really just focused much of my time on getting to medical school and I would schedule my classes accordingly. That is until I took an ecology course with Dr. Ryan. It really opened my eyes to many of the issues of conservation, especially within urban ecology. Now, I still hope to get into med school but I have a new interest in conservation. I had always tried to conserve through little things like turning off lights or not letting the water run while brushing my teeth but not trying to evoke change in the community to help conservation.

After meetings with Don Groney and Travis Ryan, I started to fully understand the problems with bird deaths and how prolific they are. I was struck with it because it is a solely man made issue and one that can be helped by a few simple steps. It seems weird to me that building managers and businesses wouldn’t want to turn off their lights just at night to help out. It’s a simple, easy way to help both birds and conserve energy. I mean all that Lights Out Indy is asking is to turn off certain lights at night. It wouldn’t hurt business, if anything the promotion they could get would help. I am excited to really start and talk with businesses about the prospect of them joining Lights Out Indy.

Andrew

Leave a Reply

